Charles Keefer's Blog

A pretty good cab for $10

with one comment

If any of you are looking for a nice cabernet sauvignon, here is one I would suggest. Got it today at Crown Liquors in Palm Beach Gardens.

This Avalon cab was very drinkable. Not rough at all. I wish I could say it had an aftertaste of jingleberries or whatever the professional reviewers say, but I can’t. I’ll never get one of those silver cups on a chain around my neck.

I asked one of the four people on duty in the store to recommend a cab for around $10. The Avalon is one of two recommended. The other was a Wente that also is good.

I’m impressed with that store. Everyone seems knowledgeable about the selection and it is impressive. Not overwhelming like Total Wine, but impressive.

In Total Wine, you have to look for assistance and then you wonder how anyone could be knowledgeable about 4,000 or so products.

While finding it at Crown Liquors we walked past cabs that went for above $50 so there is plenty of upside.

They also have an impressive cheese station.

The place is on the west side of U.S. 1 north of PGA. I recommend it.

Written by Charles Keefer

December 30, 2011 at 10:10 pm

Posted in Blog

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This Crown has changed hands; I don’t know who owns it now.
    Just fyi.

    nativefla53

    February 17, 2012 at 5:11 pm


Leave a Reply

