Charles Keefer's Blog

Chickens and Gooses

leave a comment »

I am here in praise of Sriracha. The photo above is a screen I have on my window. It is just for people who want a photo.

Sriracha comes in two flavors. The Chicken is HOT. The Goose is Mild.

The Chicken is for flavoring soups and stews. The Goose goes good on a tuna sandwich.

You can get it at the Fortune Cookie just east of Congress Avenue on Forest Hill. South side.

I met Sriracha on a cruise years ago. I was on the Celebrity Century and what a wonderful cruise ship it was. Teak decks. Nordic simplicity. Great food.

At the time, it was the only cruise line that had a famous chef doing the menu.

It was lunch and a crew person was sitting down the table from me. He had Sriracha and was using it liberally.

I asked if I could try it.

“How hot can you stand?” he asked.

I was younger then. I’d been to Mexico.

I said “As hot as it gets.”

Well, Sriracha is not as hot as it gets. Not by a long shot. But the Chicken is hot.

And it carries a taste of the Orient with it.

It might be an acquired taste, so if you rush out and buy a bottle, don’t blame me if it doesn’t fit your palate.

If you do like it, please leave a comment.

Written by Charles Keefer

December 12, 2011 at 11:05 pm

Posted in Blog

Leave a Reply

