Charles Keefer's Blog

Cat and mouse …

with one comment

Arc Touch Mouse from Microsoft

Just got one of these on a recommendation from a friend.

This thing is pretty cool. You bend it to fit your hand to turn it on. You straighten it to turn it off.

It feels pretty good and seems to work just fine on the desktop. It isn’t BlueTooth so you have a dongle, which I like.

It feels good. I’ve seen some stuff on the web where people said it was hard to press the buttons unless your hand happens to fit all the way down on the mouse. I would give this some respect. It did feel a bit hard to press the buttons unless you concentrated on it. But then, I have only a couple hours experience. With more hours, it probably wouldn’t be a problem.

My big concern is how it handled in World of Warcraft.

The answer is that it worked pretty well but it got a bit jittery at times.

I rebooted and tried again and still it got jittery, which means it wasn’t smooth moving to the buttons you needed to press during an attack. It jumped around a bit.

Since this can get you killed in World of Warcraft, I have to issue a warning.

My Logitech mouse doesn’t do that. It is smooth all the time. I think I have a Logitech M510. Here is a picture of it.

Logitech M510 Mouse

The Logitech mouse does jump around some, but then so did the Microsoft mouse. By jump, I mean that sometimes when you moved it, it ended up somewhere else on the screen than where you moved it to. I consider this a fault with the game’s browser, not the mice since they both seem to do it.

For those of you not interested in gaming, I may have more to say later. It is just that gaming is like test flying a new airplane. It demands the most of the systems.

If you are a normal user and are interested in the Arc Touch, have at it. One great point is that it is so easy to turn it off and on.

I never turn my Logitech mouse off. I guess I might be using a bit more battery, but I think it turns itself off if you don’t use it. Battery changes are like twice a year.

If you are a gamer and like your mouse, stick with it. This high-tech Microsoft mouse doesn’t do anything new for you.

It probably does neat stuff for word processors, or so I have been told. But then, I couldn’t care less because when I am word processing, all I need a mouse to do is define a graph so I can move it.

The other thing is that the dongle for the Microsoft Arc Touch attaches to the bottom of the mouse magnetically. There isn’t a secure position to put it in. It just holds to the bottom of the mouse. People on the web have commented about this also, but no one has lost a dongle so it doesn’t seem to be a problem. On the Logitech, you store the dongle in the battery compartment shut away so it can’t fall off.

I really like how cool the new Microsoft mouse is, but I don’t think it solved any problems.

If you have an extra $30, buy one and try it. Let me know. If your mouse is broke, buy one.

If you are happy, stay happy.

Written by Charles Keefer

November 14, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Posted in Blog

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. If this is the Charles Keefer that was on the cruise to the Bahamas I tried to find you when I got off the ship ,but was not able I have been looking and hope you are the right one . please let me know you made that cruise the time of my life Thank you!!!! Debbi

    Debbi

    February 1, 2012 at 8:59 pm


Leave a Reply

