Charles Keefer's Blog

Nearly forgotten treasure …

with 2 comments

Jan Norris took me to the reopening of John G’s in their new location at 264 S. Ocean Blvd. in Manalapan. You have to love John G’s. They have served more fish and chips over the years than many McDonald’s locations have served inedible burgers. So this morning, with beautiful weather, I fired up the Ducati to go for Sunday brunch.

What I saw when I got there was a line that stretched at least half an hour if not more. And I was a single.

I hate standing in line.

I went “Yuk” and roared off down the road.

Then I remembered the Friendly Greek, which is about half a mile south of Ocean Boulevard in Lantana on US 1.

I remember it fondly because once I decided to just ride down US 1 for a while, stopped there for breakfast, then got back on the bike and didn’t stop until I was in Key West.

If you don’t know this place, you should. They make a marvelous breakfast. I had eggs Benedict with hash browns and a side order of corned beef hash. They make the corned beef hash themselves. It isn’t store bought and re-heated. And it is wonderful.

And there is no line.

I doubt that John G’s could have done any better.

So here is my breakfast.

Written by Charles Keefer

October 3, 2011 at 7:05 am

Posted in Blog

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. That looks seriously good. I’m not sure I’ve eaten there, but I’ll give it a try. I loved John G’s, but, like you, I hate lines.

    Ken Steinhoff

    October 3, 2011 at 8:15 am

  2. Looks like clogged arteries to me. 😉 Not a fan of hash browns – more a grits and biscuits person (real, slow cooked grits, that is).

    Carol Keefer

    October 6, 2011 at 5:29 pm


Leave a Reply

