Charles Keefer's Blog

Recall, recall…

with one comment

Sounds like something from a Schwarzenegger movie, doesn’t it?

Well, it isn’t. It is the second recall notice I’ve gotten on my new Ducati Diavel.

Luckily, it is all small stuff. The first recall was for the clamp mechanism that held the license plate holder. This one was for the kick stand, which wouldn’t be small if the bike fell over. Fortunately, it never fell over.

One wouldn’t normally think that a trip to the shop for a recall would be a pleasant thing. But it was. It gave me an excuse to ride the Diavel to Stuart. What a pleasure.

I just love riding past the landscapes north of Jupiter around Jonathan Dickinson State Park. And I love stopping at Judy’s Highway Bar on the way back and getting a real German beer from Victor, the largish German gentleman who runs the place. He likes my Ducati more than my BMW and he rides a BMW. Or at least he did the last time I checked. If I understood him. I have to work to get through his accent.

And I learned that the gasoline we buy with a 10% mixture of ethanol, the stuff they make from corn and get federal dollars for, is actually bad stuff. Ethanol absorbs water. Water is not good for engines. It also dissolves plastic, rubber, and fiberglass. My gas tank is made from plastic. I don’t want it dissolved.

So, while I was up there getting my kick stand replaced, they sold me a $10 bottle of this stuff that is supposed to change the H2O molecules in your gas tank to H2O2 molecules which don’t act like water and go through the combustion process even better and actually clean your engine. They didn’t tell me what it would do to the ethanol that would eat my gas tank.

It may be the placebo effect, but I thought the engine ran better on the way home after I poured a couple ounces of this stuff in the gas tank.

One story I heard was that a Ducati dealer in Fort Lauderdale took a gallon of water and poured a bottle of this stuff in it and then put the mixture into a Ducati and tried to start it. It actually ran, but lean, very lean, they said. I find this a bit hard to believe.

I am not a chemical engineer. I have no idea if this stuff works. But it is perfectly logical to me that the government is using taxpayer dollars to create stuff that is bad for my motorcycle and a bad investment in farming. I’m sure the people in Iowa like it, but look who they vote for.

So, if anyone has any real knowledge about this, I’d love to hear from you. Until then, I’ll pour a slosh of this stuff into the gas tank when I fill up. If the Italian stallion starts better, I will consider it a win.

Written by Charles Keefer

September 22, 2011 at 7:54 pm

Posted in Motorcycles

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yes, ethanol destroys engines and other parts. When I had a small boat, boating magazines were full of articles on how the stuff was fouling up engines, fuel tanks and fuel systems. My lawn mower repair guy loves ethanol, because it also fouls up lawn mowers. And you forgot one “benefit,” it DECREASES your gas mileage. Only government could come up with something so fouled up. You might want to Google around a bit to see if that stuff really works. I’ve always understood that most additives sold to increase engine performance are a waste of money, but your wonder additive is sold for a different purpose, but if this stuff is for real, I may buy some for my mower.

    George P

    September 23, 2011 at 9:03 am


Leave a Reply

