Charles Keefer's Blog

Moving is such a pain…

with one comment

I again remember why I thought moving was such a pain. I’ve now been doing it for a solid week.

And I tried to minimize it. I’m only moving six doors up the hall in the same building.

I moved all kinds of stuff with a hand truck for four days, then I got my cleaning people to come in and move my furniture. No way I could move my couch or my dining table with a $20 hand truck from WalMart.

I thought I had done a lot of moving. My back was hurting and I was really tired of it. So when they offered to do the rest, I said “Hell Yes!” It took them another three hours, and this is moving out of a one-bedroom apartment.

Now I have spent days trying to go through the mess and put it somewhere logical. My back still hurts and I still have a lot to do.

Today I spent more than four hours on the computer just trying to change my address with the Postal Service, my banks, my dentist, and providers I commonly do business with like Amazon.com. Now I find even more service providers, four or five internet registries, and T-Mobile for telecom to a tablet I shouldn’t have bought. And I’m thinking about my tax guy so he won’t put my old address on my tax return and my doctor who I am sure doesn’t have anything I can update across the net.

And, according to Comcast, it will take another week to get a decent picture from my new cable box.

No wonder people live in houses for 20 or 30 or 40 years. At least they don’t have to spend a day updating their address.

I’ll post photos of the new digs as soon as I get everything off the floor.

Written by Charles Keefer

September 20, 2011 at 7:47 pm

Posted in Blog

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chuck, I so feel for you. We just got some stuff done to our house and all we had to do was empty a room and a hallway — in the house! — and we still haven’t gotten it all back together again.

    Scott Campbell

    October 9, 2011 at 9:44 pm


Leave a Reply

