Charles Keefer's Blog

Downtown …

with 3 comments

It is shameful to admit, but I don’t get out often enough.

I have lived in City Place for several years and I only got to the Paris Bakery and Cafe a few days ago. It is seven blocks away – about 10 minutes by bicycle.

Well, there is a tree there where I could lock my bicycle. The place is small, but it is hammered for lunch. The people there speak English with a French accent. Above you see a photo of the beef bourguignon I had for lunch.

I wish I could say it was amazingly good. What I can say is that it was about what I made the several times when I made it. Not terribly better. Which means I didn’t do a bad job on the recipe. It was different. The carrots had a different taste. But not that different.

I was good, but not tremendous. Maybe it isn’t a tremendous dish.

The bread that came with was good, but not tremendously good.

Maybe tremendous should be reserved for places that charge more than $15 for lunch.

Would I go back again for the beef bourguignon? Not really. I’ll go back for something else. Maybe I’ll have a better review then.

Across the street is a chocolate shop.

A smallish Spanish lady named Flor seems to run the place. She was very nice.

The chocolates are supposedly from Belgium. They are relatively expensive in my book – four chocolates for $16.

They were good. But of course, all chocolate is good. And chocolate is supposed to be good for you.

Maybe it is just my age talking, but I wasn’t blown away.

The chocolates were very civilized. They weren’t full of wax like the junk made here.

I am putting both experiences down to my not knowing superior stuff when I see it.

Written by Charles Keefer

September 8, 2011 at 9:58 pm

Posted in Blog

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I started to call you this afternoon to see if you wanted to go for a ride. Just before the skies opened up. This late afternoon thunderboomers are a pain.

    Four buck apiece for chocolates? Sorry, that’s too rich for my taste.

    Ken Steinhoff

    September 8, 2011 at 10:58 pm

  2. It is just beef stew. Do they do calves’ liver, that is a real test in my book. There is good and great Belgium chocolates. We have Neuhaus here in DC – now that is truly good. http://www.unionstationdc.com/store/neuhaus-chocolatier/10336.
    Next time you are in Charleston, try Christophe’s and see how they compare to French .http://www.christophechocolatier.com/index.php?p=CONTACT

    Carol Keefer

    September 13, 2011 at 3:28 pm

  3. PS 4 for $16 is way over priced (must be a Palm Bch price) unless they are truly special seasonal items like maroon glacee.

    Carol Keefer

    September 15, 2011 at 3:58 pm


Leave a Reply

