Charles Keefer's Blog

Best Star Trek female

with 2 comments

So here is the latest after I have spent the last four days looking at a few Star Trek series. It is a pop quiz.

Who was the hottest Star Trek woman? Here are your choices.

– Nichelle Nichols who played Unuru in the original series.

– Majel Barrett who played nurse Christine Chapel in the original series and who we always include because she was Gene Roddenbury’s squeeze.

– Denise Crosby who played Tasha Yar in Star Trek: The Next Generation.

– Marina Sirtis who played Deanna Troy in Star Trek: The Next Generaton.

– Gates McFadden who played Dr. Beverly Crusher in Star Trek: The Next Generation.

– Jennifer Lien who played Tess in Star Trek Voyager.

– Roxann Dawson who played B’Elanna Torres in Star Trek Voyager.

– Jeri Ryan who played Seven of Nine in Star Trek Voyager.

– Jolene Blalock who played T’Pol in Star Trek Enterprise.

I don’t count the latest effort where they are on somebody else’s ship because I don’t think even unintentional piracy is worth a series.

I also don’t count Deep Space Nine because it was a hotel, not a star ship.

Notice that I did not define what hot means. If I had defined it as male hot wow, then Jeri Ryan would have taken it 60-40, losing points only to Marina Sirtis and Jolene Blalock.

The Star Trek franchise has made a deep impression on our culture, as I think Roddenbury wanted it to. That means I give deep points to Michelle Nichols and Denise Crosby and Gates McFadden for extending competence to felame characters.

Marina Sirtis and Jennifer Lien brought us female inspiration that earlier characters could not.

Rozann Dawson was exemplary playing both sides of the street.

Jolene Blalock and Jeri Ryan were a bit handicapped by their roles – not human – but their costumes got a 9.0 in my book. I think Blalock played a better alien but I can’t be sure. How do you play a reformed Borg?

When I look at all this, I really can’t say.

I’m going with Michelle Nichols because, where and when I grew up, she couldn’t drink from my water fountian before Star Trek. She could speak to the state legislature now and get water wherever she needed it.

So what do you think?

Written by Charles Keefer

August 24, 2011 at 7:57 pm

Posted in Blog

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. 7 of 9 is my fav great body even if she did have a rib or two removed to make her waist smaller

    bev

    August 26, 2011 at 2:22 pm

  2. How can you leave out a Captain? Kate MulGrew as Captain Janeway -USS Voyager in 2371

    Carol

    September 2, 2011 at 8:56 am


Leave a Reply

