Charles Keefer's Blog

Year three…

with 3 comments

Eliot Kleinberg

Six people. That’s how many former Palm Beach Post staffers showed up at the Dixie Bar and Grill for the third anniversary of Black Tuesday, the day 300 of us hit the streets.

It was good seeing you folks. All the best for the coming year.

Apologies to Ron Hayes whose photo did not get taken. I thought it did. The camera thought otherwise.

Don Horine

Lynn Kalber

Scott Eyman

Written by Charles Keefer

August 12, 2011 at 7:58 pm

Posted in Blog

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Here’s what Year One looked like. My guess is the Ron Hayes looks about the same as he did three years ago, so this’ll get you off the hook.

    I have an excuse for not being there: I’m out in the Midwest. Even if I had been there, I doubt I would have shown up. I’ve moved on. I was happy and proud to have been at The Post when the roller coaster was going up and I’m even happier to have bailed before it hit the downgrade.

    I particularly don’t want to see the survivors who are waiting for the greasy guy with bad teeth and a pack of cigarettes rolled up in his dirty T-shirt sleeves to say, “Everybody off.”

    Bruce nailed it:

    “And I hope when I get old I don’t sit around thinking about it
    but I probably will
    Yeah, just sitting back trying to recapture
    a little of the glory of, well time slips away
    and leaves you with nothing mister but
    boring stories of glory days.”

    Ken Steinhoff

    August 12, 2011 at 8:27 pm

  2. I had a great time. I got a hug from Lynn Kalber, who I worked with for years and still adore, and a hand shake from her husband Scott Eyman, who can write me into the ground on most subjects. I got to see Ron Hayes who is still criticizing the newspaper and who should be listened to at all times.

    And I got to watch Eliot Kleinberg as an adult.

    I got to watch him as a kid many years ago. Thank God he has grown up.

    He is all I expected him to be, a wonderful guy.

    Charles Keefer

    August 12, 2011 at 10:57 pm

  3. Sorry I missed it and sorry I forgot to remind everyone. I was in Miami for a story.
    Hope that everyone shows up for a fun gathering when we do the Post 2nd Annual Alumni Picnic in October. Any Post alums (from any department) not on my email list, let me know, and I’ll add you!

    Jan Norris

    August 15, 2011 at 6:31 pm


Leave a Reply

