Charles Keefer's Blog

Around the block …

with 9 comments

Fountain at Royal Poinciana Plaza

Here are a few shots from a new camera – at least new to me. The camera is a Canon PowerShot ELPH 300 HS 12.1 megapixel and it is one of the smallest point and shoots I’ve ever seen. It is the size of a pack of cigarettes only half as thick and it has all the wizard electronics you could wish for. The thing even shoots HD video with stereo sound, although I haven’t tried that yet. That’s better than my high end Nikon DSLR.

It was overcast when I took these shots at about 7 p.m. The screen on the back of the camera was as bright as you could want. On first look when I got home, I though the photos were blurred. Then I realized I was too close to the screen for the glasses I was wearing.

I know the photos are not stunning. I just made a quick stop on my five mile bicycle route to shoot something I could look at when I got home. Had to share it so my friends would know I’m still alive.

My new mountain bike.

Written by Charles Keefer

August 8, 2011 at 7:02 pm

Posted in Blog

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. cool camera. your bike looks tough, you need to bring it up and we go up to columbia and do some really neat riding,

    b pellington

    August 10, 2011 at 6:49 pm

  2. The camera is pretty cool. Unfortunately, there are no bicycle racks that fit a Porsche Boxster except one which requires attaching some parts to the undercarriage and which costs $400. I just can’t see using a bike carrier often enough to justify spending $400 plus labor for installation at my Porsche shop.

    But, you never know. I might get it one day.

    At the end of the month, I’m moving into a much larger apartment six doors down the hall. i’ll have a view of the dancing fountain, but even better, I’ll have tons more space. That will be way cool.

    Charles Keefer

    August 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm

  3. Moving! Wow, you had mentioned that. Just remember if you go riding in Columbia, the hills can be steeper than the bridges in Florida.

    If you go to Charleston, I found a really nice B&B in I’on, Mt. Pleasant – near a real chocolatier.
    Drove a rental that might solve your bike/car problem – just rent one of the little boxie cars. This was a Chevy HHR , it was black so my friends said it looked like a mini hearse. Got good mileage, ‘course not the power or pick-up of my Audi – but it beat driving down to SC just for the weekend (40th H.S. Reunion).

    Carol Keefer

    August 14, 2011 at 11:46 am

  4. That was you hadn’t mention that – need an editor. πŸ˜‰

    Carol Keefer

    August 14, 2011 at 11:46 am

  5. Cool bike! Glad you’re moving – let me know if you need furniture. I’m weeding out. Have a lovely antique flip top table and an old English oak pub-style (square) dining table with chairs and leaves – for all those dinner parties you’re going to throw! I think you should pick up where Carl left off – having a “salon” once a month, and either pot-luck or do most of the cooking. I can help.

    Jan Norris

    August 15, 2011 at 6:36 pm

  6. I am moving six doors down on the same floor. The difference is that i get an extra bedroom and bathroom, a bigger kitchen and a bigger living room.

    I was in a one bedroom, one bathroom and very a small kitchen apartment.

    The cost difference is $400 a month. I get more than twice the space for only 1/3rd more rent.

    This is a win.

    Now, do I outfit the new room as a guest bedroom or as an office as if I have a job?

    I think as a guest room where all my friends can come and stay would be better.

    Would you come down if you had your own suite with shower and tub?

    That is what I am getting for a mere $400 a month.

    Love it.

    cmk

    Charles Keefer

    August 15, 2011 at 9:54 pm

  7. hands down, a guest room

    b pellington

    August 20, 2011 at 9:56 am

  8. That is interesting.

    I will have some space now. I might be interested in the tables and I might be interested in the salon idea, if you would help. It would be nice to get some people together.

    The apartment is huge. It would be a good venue.

    The kitchen is big enough to do a party. There is parking across the way, but you would have to pay for it.

    But what is a few bucks if the drinks are free.

    And then they could venture out to BB King’s joint or whatever.

    Let’s talk.

    cmk

    Charles Keefer

    August 20, 2011 at 9:57 pm

  9. Can be a guest room/office – get a daybed (i.e., upscale twin) or good futon/small sleep sofa (i.e., comfortable) or even snazzier – get a murphy bed built into a bookcase. Course, if you are going to smoke in your guest room/office, I’m still staying at a hotel. πŸ˜‰
    Don’t forget to let me know your new address (presume it is only apt no. change)

    Carol Keefer

    August 23, 2011 at 6:24 pm


Leave a Reply

