Charles Keefer's Blog

2,000 miles

with one comment

Wow. I just pushed a naked bike 2,000 miles.

A naked bike means a motorcycle without a faring or windshield. It means looking over the handlebars and seeing nothing but road and wind.

Pushing a naked bike is real motorcycling.

I had a choice. I could have taken my BMW with full faring and all the extras. I took my new Honda Sabre just because a brand-new candy-apple red motorcycle needs to be ridden.

And I am glad that I did.

It wasn’t easy. You have to wear a full helmet and motorcycle jacket to protect against the wind. If it rains, you get wet and cold. I got so wet and cold that I came down with the flu and had to spend a week on the couch at my friend Bruce’s place in Charleston, SC. Thank you, Bruce.

But I made it home.

Next time, it will be the BMW.

The other thing is that I will get a Mustang seat for the Sabre. Having your butt hurt after 30 miles is not good.

Written by Charles Keefer

May 10, 2011 at 11:18 pm

Posted in Bicycles, Blog

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Bravo, Chuck! Yup, motorcycling sometimes includes wet & cold. Hope this trip was before the love bugs appeared in Florida!

    Ellen K

    May 11, 2011 at 6:51 am


Leave a Reply

