Charles Keefer's Blog

My Dad or My Aunt?

with 3 comments

Try to imagine that you live in a place where Bob Dylan is still a seditious hippie who writes songs that might influence your daughter to get pregnant by some no-count who rides a motorcycle and takes drugs.

Imagine a place where a memberships in the Rotary Club and the Chamber of Commerce are essential.

Imagine a place where you get your family dressed up on Sunday to go hear someone tell you, in a false voice, with many references to Jee-zus, that time is about to end.

Imagine that these are the ideas that swim around your head all day long mixing only with the ideas that you aren’t making the money you used to and that your wife hasn’t been interested in sex for the last 15 years but if you fuck your secretary everything could go to hell.

You don’t need Fox News to tell you that you are scared shitless. Fox News just amplifies that by telling you that brown people want what you have.

This is the definition of hell on earth and this is what inspires lots of people to vote for politicians who want things to just stop.

There is only one thing I can think to do about this.

I donate money to my college so that some of their children can be exposed to something different.

I was fortunate enough to go to college.

I spoke to my father all my life. To his 98th year, he still thought of black people as niggers. Even the ones he liked.

God only knows what he thought about women. I was to chickenshit to ask.

But I know what my aunt thought about him.

My aunt, his sister, spent years in Alaska as a midwife. She started a midwife school in New York and ended up at the College of Charleston in South Carolina. The number of people she helped is uncountable.

She thought my dad was a disgusting son of a bitch with no table manners.

I agree.

My dad came from that place where everything was a threat.

My aunt came from a place where science and action could make a better world.

Who would you rather be?

Written by Charles Keefer

April 10, 2011 at 10:17 pm

Posted in Blog

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. your aunt, however women are generally more open to advancement and change , if not only because they have to be. Women, in most part tend also to be more accepting, don’t shove anything down my throat , and i’ll do the same for you. Not even Radical libertarian views. It is OK to be different

    bev

    April 11, 2011 at 12:16 pm

  2. Women are property/possessions. That’s what he thought.

    Carol Keefer

    April 11, 2011 at 3:51 pm

  3. His views aren’t surprising. I imagine LOTS of men of his generation thought that way. What sucks is when the NEXT generation refuses to think for itself and accepts those views. My dear brother, a smart guy but with some odd opinions, once told me “everyone knows” blacks are inferior to whites. I asked him what scientific study he based that on, and he claimed political correctness kept such studies from being done but that he’s sticking with his view anyway.

    George P

    April 13, 2011 at 12:39 pm


Leave a Reply

