Charles Keefer's Blog

Sorry, boys of Bologna …

with 5 comments


I bought a new motorcycle today but it wasn’t a Ducati.

I decided that the last Ducati I bought was good enough. In fact, sensational. Don’t need another one, thanks. And it really isn’t broken in yet. I’ll just keep that pasta rocket and not go looking for a new Ducati model that is better.

There isn’t better. Once you have figured out that no motorcycle will ever hold the road like a Ducati and that anything above second gear is probably illegal, what more do you need to know. Keep the one you have. They aren’t making roads where you can actually use the fourth gear.

So, instead, I traded in my 2007 Honda VTX-1800 on the new Honda Sabre and I am very happy about the new bike.

The VTX-1800 was a rock. Literally. It weighed in at 850 pounds. Goosing something like that requires a huge engine, which it had. But, golly, you could feel the poundage.

And it looked like every other Harley in the lot. Put it in a row on bike night and nobody even looked at it. You could see their eyes going – ooops, another one of the same. Which is a shame if you know the bike. The VTX-1800 is a fuel-injected, shaft driven motorcycle with enough torque to pull an 18 wheeler. It handled decently, if a bit slow, and with some oversteer, but those huge 900 cc. cylinders made up the difference. It was fun.

The Sabre is 1300 cc’s but carrys 230 less pounds. It also is lower slung. In my first 20 miles of riding it, I’ve had no problems swooshing it around turns I wouldn’t think of swooshing with the VTX. That means better handling. I’m thinking it might be good on something as challenging as the Tail of the Dragon.

What I found amazing is that you don’t miss those huge cylinders when you go from the 1800 to the 1300. It might even be faster thanks to the smaller weight.

It feels the same power-wise. Huge torque. And that is where you get your jollies with a big twin.

I know guys who have taken huge four-bangers and put Nitrous Oxide systems on them. They are at the point where the tires can’t handle the power. I don’t get it.

Goosing the Sabre only a little puts every car in my rear view mirror. Riding normally puts every car in my rear view mirror. Four or five seconds puts me at highway speed and then I trundle along at 2,700 RPMs or so.

They say the thing will get 65 mpg at 55 mph on a straight road. You can expect less. But, hell, if the thing tops 50 mpg at any time I am happy.

Do you know how pleasing it is to look over your AmEx bill and find that your stops at gas stations are costing you something like $5.49.

Ah, well. More on this later. I need more than 20 miles in order to talk about this bike.

Written by Charles Keefer

March 9, 2011 at 11:51 pm

Posted in Blog, Motorcycles

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chuck, can’t believe no one has commented yet on your new motorcycle purchase, so I guess I’ll be the first. Have you ridden it to Judy’s yet? Drove by there yesterday and the bikes overflowed the parking lot and elsewhere.

    The Sabre’s a good looking bike, that’s for sure. Is yours red like the photo? Can’t remember if you commented previously but have you ridden the Dragon? I’ve done that on both of my Beemers in years past.

    Speaking of Beemers, I was thinking about the new F800R BMW as a lightweight alternative to my 1100. But, can’t understand why BMW would design it with chain drive. I’ve been sold on my shaft drive bikes and don’t really want the maintenance of a chain! What were they thinking?

    Take care. Enjoy that bike. The weather sure has been perfect for riding.

    Ellen

    Ellen K

    March 14, 2011 at 4:11 pm

  2. Everyone else is just too jealous. Tis a beauty.

    Carol Keefer

    March 15, 2011 at 3:46 pm

  3. I like the Bike. Excellent choice.

    Barbara

    March 30, 2011 at 3:23 pm

  4. It is a beautiful bike. I know you will enjoy it.

    Barbara DeHart

    July 7, 2011 at 6:56 pm

  5. I like red!

    Jan Norris

    July 13, 2011 at 9:21 pm


Leave a Reply

