Charles Keefer's Blog

My next bike…

leave a comment »

The Ducati Diavel – short for devil in some Italian dialect.

It is Ducati’s idea of a Harley, except it has more horses than my Ducati Streetfighter. Probably weighs more so it needs them.

The Diavel has a relatively low seat at 30 inches and room for two.

My Ducati Streetfighter is the closest thing I can imagine to flying like Superman. I rode it today down to Morikami for lunch and it was such a pleasure. 70 mph in third gear going down I-95 at less than half throttle on little more than 400 pounds of motorcycle that sticks to the road like Superglue. As far as I can tell, you don’t do that on any other motorcycle. But, if you want a passenger, she had better be small.

The Diavel probably will duplicate the experience but with a average-sized passenger.

It also has the multi-mode option developed with the Multistrada – sport mode with all 162 horses showing, touring mode with 162 horses but toned down, and urban mode with 100 horses for powering around the Walmart parking lot at under 20 mph.

That is one thing about the Streetfighter. It won’t do less than 20 in first gear. You ride it around town in second gear. If you get on a street marked 40 or 45 you can shift into third, but only if traffic is doing 50. Under 20 and you are just riding the clutch.

I tested the Multistrada and I liked it, but I thought it was trying to do a little much. I couldn’t figure the Enduro mode on a Ducati. Kinda like I can’t figure out what BMW is doing making dirt bikes.

The Diavel is a Multistrada without the Enduro mode and with better lines. It is easier to make a great bike if you assume it is always going to be ridden on roads.

I can’t wait to try it, which means buy it. I know I should wait for 2.0, but I’ve never been that kind of person.

By the way, how is your iPad doing. Mine is doing just fine and I still love it. I won’t be buying iPad 2.0. I don’t need two more cameras.

Written by Charles Keefer

March 8, 2011 at 11:19 pm

Posted in Blog, Motorcycles

Leave a Reply

