Charles Keefer's Blog

It’s only Fair

leave a comment »

There was a time, recently, that I circled the end of January on my calendar because it was time for the South Florida Fair.

That meant a day walking around people watching, a couple of interesting home show items, some good photos, and about three tremendous food treats compressed into about four hours.

I went to the Fair on Sunday.

Next year the circle might not be there.

There was people watching and some interesting photos.

But I’ve already bought the interesting home show items. And I can hold it against them because there aren’t any new ones.

But worse, the food seems to have fallen victim to the economy.

I got a hot Italian sausage from Little Richard’s, which projects itself as the quality food vendor, and it was cold. I got a regular Italian sausage from the Italian food trailer, where I always have had good luck, and it tasted like a hot dog. I got some German Roasted Nuts for about $2 an ounce that should have cost half that.

I thought the portions had been slashed by a quarter or more.

I’m not the only one who thinks that.

It reminds me of what happened to my newspaper.

You can cut quality and increase price only to a point. Once that point is passed, it is easier to walk through the internet than the fairgrounds. Then, the only thing they have to sell is spacial disorientation – the rides.

Kinda like what newspapers are selling – a local place to call the Mayor a Nazi, not a place where you get a rational discussion on how to fund city services.

Written by Charles Keefer

January 25, 2011 at 9:33 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

