Charles Keefer's Blog

This just in.

with one comment

From the New York Times:

Senator Joseph I. Lieberman will announce on Wednesday that he will not seek a fifth term, according to a person he told of his decision.

Mr. Lieberman, whose term is up in 2012, chose to retire rather than risk being defeated, said the person, who spoke to the senator on Tuesday.

“I don’t think he wanted to go out feet first,” the person said.

A longtime Democrat who lost a bitter primary battle to Ned Lamont in 2006, Mr. Lieberman won re-election as an independent that year, largely benefiting from a weak showing by the Republican candidate, who received less than 10 percent of the vote.

But Linda McMahon, the wealthy pro-wrestling tycoon who spent $50 million on an unsuccessful Senate race last year, has already signaled she may run again in 2012.

Wow, do I have three minds about this.

Regardless of what you think about Joe Lieberman, he has been a voice of relative sanity in the Senate for years. When I say relative, you can contrast him with someone like John Boehner, now speaker of the House, who hasn’t voiced an honest word, or emotion, in so long that no one can remember. Recent snuffles included, they are all manufactured.

So how can a guy who was nominated to be Vice-President turn around and reject his own party? Simple. They didn’t renominate him for his Senate seat.

Can you blame him for leaving the Democratic Party. Hell no. Self preservation.

He got himself elected as an independent. Could he do it again?

I’d say he probably could.

But Joe is getting a little long in the tooth. And he won’t have any party support in the next election.

Maybe it is better that one of our finer legislators goes out on top.

So there are two of my minds. He shouldn’t go because he is good and maybe I think third parties are cool. And he should go because he deserves to retire and we need someone younger in that seat.

Remember, I come from a state that kept Strom Thurmond in office long after he was dead.

My third thought is this. Lieberman’s subcommittee employes my friend Scott Campbell. Now I know Scott will land on his feet, but such upheavals tend to leave scattered bodies. I don’t want his to be one. So I am concerned for my friend.

In the long run, I think all will be well.

My question is how much longer will we be able to think about things in the long run?

And how much longer will we be able to think about things like Linda McMahon running for the Senate. I saw her simulate kicking a guy in the balls on national television. Or maybe just cable. Does it matter?

Professional wrestlling, as much as I love it, is the lowest form of performance art. The U.S. Senate is the highest.

When they conflate, we are in major trouble.

Written by Charles Keefer

January 18, 2011 at 11:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Chuck, thanks for your concern. I’m kind’ve lucky. I’ve got two years to figure out what to do next. A lot of South Florida’s best reporters didn’t have that luxury before they got bought out or downsized. And, since I’m committee staff, there’s a decent chance a new chairman would keep a lot of us anyway because we have expertise on the issues.

    And the next two years will not be boring.

    Scott Campbell

    January 27, 2011 at 7:45 pm


Leave a Reply

