Charles Keefer's Blog

Laminaria japonica

with 4 comments

It figures.

I do a thing on Freeman Dyson and I get a comment from my sister. Nothing from you other schmucks.

I get a pointer to a web site with entries like “Policy Implications of Uncertainty in Modeled Life-Cycle Greenhouse Gas Emissions of Biofuels.”

Here is another one.

“Impact of ammonia concentration on Spirulina platensis growth in an airlift photobioreactor”

Here, I am doing my research.

Spriulina platensis is a blue-green alga.

A photobioreactor is like a pond. It gets sunlight and biological stuff reacts in it.

An airlift photobioreactor appears to have a an air pump attached.

So, you apparently poison it with ammonia and you have something.

I’m not one of those idiots who says we shouldn’t study cow dung because what possible difference could it make.

I just want to know what some of this stuff means.

Why are we worried about ammonia and blue-green algae? Is ammonia a threat? Is blue-green algae good?

I spent 15 years in a newsroom writing computer programs and nobody in the place could talk to me about what I was doing.

I changed their jobs, but they didn’t know enough to ask what I was doing.

I have felt that way about my sister for years. I don’t know what she is doing. But I know she is changing our lives.

We need to start asking.

Yo, what are you doing and what does it mean to me? Can you explain it in English?

And how can I explain this to a Tea-bagger?

Written by Charles Keefer

December 3, 2010 at 9:09 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Might be changing the lives of some of my students (for the better, I hope). Guess my web page needs work to clarify what I do to the layman.
    More in line with your background – you should read
    in the Washington Post http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/12/03/AR2010120305527.html
    Which includes the statement “But even solid reporting can be suspect if readers are puzzled by who’s producing it. That was evident from the response to this story, and it should be a concern for The Post as it publishes more journalism by outside news organizations. Readers like the familiarity of Post bylines. They’re less comfortable if they don’t know who’s providing their news.”

    Carol Keefer

    December 5, 2010 at 12:16 pm

  2. Oops that should be ‘clarify to the layman what I do.’ Could use editorial help from my brother.

    Carol Keefer

    December 5, 2010 at 12:17 pm

  3. Oops. You should have given the URL to your web page.

    charles Keefer

    December 8, 2010 at 9:08 am

  4. Carol Keefer

    December 8, 2010 at 5:28 pm


Leave a Reply

