Charles Keefer's Blog

Rally time …

leave a comment »

Rally time …

Jon Stewart, one of my favorite television people in all the world, is having a march on Washington Oct. 30 to restore sanity to American politics. Just tone it down a notch, he says.

His alter ego on Comedy Central, Stephen Colbert, is having a competing march on Washington the same day to keep fear alive in American politics. He probably doesn’t need to worry about that. I think Fox News has a handle on it.

This may come as news to some of you who don’t get or don’t watch Comedy Central and you may wonder why I am writing about it. I mean, of all the things to march about, why pick something from Comedy Central?

The reason is twofold.

First, politics in America has continued its tradition of being high comedy even when faced with the hard questions we have today – like – Jesus, we are killing the planet, not to mention each other, at an alarming rate.

It is time we honored that tradition by marching for comedy.

Second, there are so many cool people going.

Scott Campbell, who lives and works in Washington, is going. Not surprising. But he also is rounding up everyone he knows from the the former Palm Beach Post staff to go. His mom and dad are flying in from Fort Lauderdale to go to the march. I met them. Really nice people.

I talked to a guy on the BMW riders listserv. He is organizing some BMW riders to go to the march. Part of his handle is “law” so I suppose he is a lawyer. At least he had the sense not to buy a Harley. Can’t wait to meet him.

I called my cousins who don’t even get Comedy Central in backwoods North Carolina and they thought it would be fun. Later on whether they are going.

My sister would be going except that she will be in China for a conference. That I accept as an adequate excuse, as long as I get a tee shirt.

I am going. Can’t wait. Last time I looked, 175,000 people have signed up to attend on Facebook, and that is a week old. If the rest of them are anything like the ones I know personally, the last weekend in October will be one heck of an interesting party in downtown D.C.

So don’t tell anyone you weren’t informed.

Written by Charles Keefer

October 3, 2010 at 9:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

