Charles Keefer's Blog

Visiting

with 2 comments

I visited my University this week. Lots of things have changed.

I was a media guy. I worked on the newspaper, the annual, the literary magazine and the radio station.

WUSC, the campus radio station, has three studios now. We only had one and a news booth when I was there in 1971.

We had a dozen people involved. They have something like 130, but that is because the Mass Communications School seems to be running them through for course work. I imagine there are about a dozen heavily involved. The rest do two shows and check it off their requirements lists. No loss.

The student newspaper has a dozen work stations – about what we had in our newsroom. They write and edit on Macs. We had typewriters. Their production is somewhere else. So was ours.

They have television and web. We didn’t.

The annual, the Garnett and Black, is now a magazine and possibly better for it. Can you imagine an annual with 30,000 student photos in it. No one could afford to buy it.

The literary magazine, The Crucible, has been merged into the Garnett and Black.

When I look back, I see the wonderful people who worked with me. I see us making it happen because we believed in what we were doing.

I saw the same this week.

It may not look like the thing I did, but it is the same thing.

That is good.

Written by Charles Keefer

September 30, 2010 at 11:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Chuck! Sure wish we had been able to see you while you were here. Maybe next time. Then again, a visit to Florida in the Spring has a nice ring to it too!

    Terry

    October 20, 2010 at 4:07 pm

  2. Florida in the winter is the time to visit.

    In the spring you have lots of wind. In the winter you have wonderful days.

    You are welcome any time.

    cmk

    ckeefer3

    October 20, 2010 at 7:28 pm


Leave a Reply

