Charles Keefer's Blog

Shari Spires

with one comment

Shari Spires passing should not be marked by my silence. I lived with her and loved her for several years.

We grew apart, but that is how things go sometimes.

She now may be known for her quilting.

That is not the woman I knew.

We planned to go to her 20th high school reunion, in Iowa, on motorcycles. We both had BMW cycles. A month before, we did a shake-down ride carrying all our equipment to see how it went.

Just above Vero Beach, we were following a pickup truck that suddenly slowed to make a turn. Seems the brake lights on the truck didn’t work.

My brakes were better than hers. I just bounced off and fell over. Nothing hurt.

She ran into the back of the pickup, went down and got severe road rash – that means you leave skin on the road and you are hurt.

Her bike was totalled.

I remember trying, as gently as I could, to scrub the dead skin off her back.

I know it hurt.

But we made the reunion. She recovered, bought a new motorcycle, and we rode from West Palm Beach to Iowa on motorcycles for the class reunion.

I’m pretty sure that sets the record for the farthest any woman has ridden a motorcycle to that reunion.

Actually, I’m pretty sure there are no challengers.

So, when you think of Shari Spires, don’t think of her just as quilter or a writer.

She did shit you don’t have the balls to do.

She also was a quilter and a writer.

Written by Charles Keefer

September 15, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I never knew Shari that well but now I wish I did. What a wonderful eulogy. Thanks Chuck!

    Scott Campbell

    September 22, 2010 at 11:43 pm


Leave a Reply

