Charles Keefer's Blog

A guy in a bar

leave a comment »

I met a guy in the bar the other night.

I’m 5’9″ and 200 lbs. He was slight beside me.

He was nice. I bought him a beer while shooting pool.

He wanted to make sure that I knew he was a Mexican. He bought me a beer. He insisted.

I told him that my father was German and my mom was English.

Well, almost. My mom was from North Carolina by way of England at some point. My dad was from New Jersey by way of Germany or France or something.

What I wanted to say to him was what JFK said to me and everyone many years ago.

“Our most basic common link is that we all inhabit this planet. We all breathe the same air. We all cherish our children’s future. And we are all mortal.”

I couldn’t remember the quote.

I’m thinking what is wrong with this world is that we can’t remember that quote.

Written by Charles Keefer

September 9, 2010 at 4:24 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

