Charles Keefer's Blog

Why does anyone bother?

leave a comment »

Golf. What a game.

I met a guy who lives a few doors down from me and who was on the pro tour for a while then became a club pro.

He said he watched a guy who was on the tour take out a ruler and measure exactly six feet from the cup, then spend an entire day making that one shot. The guy would putt three balls, walk over and retrieve them, then walk back to the mark he had put at six feet and do it again. He said he had to go out and ask the guy to stop because he was wearing out the grass on the practice green walking back and forth.

According to my new friend, .0007 percent of golfers are on the tour.

From what I have read, there are about 20 million golfers in this world. The ones on the pro tour number about as many as the Chicago Bears. I can’t think of any endeavor with less a chance that you could succeed, except maybe running for President. And who would want to do that? Presidents only get to play golf on their days off.

But, yeah. I was on the course this afternoon. Lake Worth Municipal. It is beside the Intra-Coastal waterway. It has great views of Palm Beach. It usually has a nice breeze. And at 7 p.m. on a summer’s day, it has great light.

I wanted my camera. I’ll bring it next time.

What is the point of this?

Well, I don’t know. I’ll never have a swing that will get me on the pro tour.

But I did 5,428 steps doing nine holes. That is walking almost a mile. I carry a pedometer.

I sweated and the shower after felt so good.

Maybe there doesn’t have to be a point.

Written by Charles Keefer

August 27, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

