Charles Keefer's Blog

Local Jewel

with 3 comments

Bird at Morikami Museum

Sorry about the dearth of scintillating photos, or even posts, on this site recently. I’ve been busy.

I’ve been busy with a relaxing cruise on the Norwegian Caribbean Lines new megaship “Epic” on its first sailing from Miami, and with what seems like a major allergy to South Florida.

But instead of photos of me blowing my nose (which you will never see) or me living posh (I’m working on a web page), above is a photo from a remarkable jewel in our back yard.

Eat your heart out, John Lopinot. I didn’t need to dress up like a tree or hike into the wilderness with a telephoto lens as long as my arm. This bird, whatever it is, stood on a rock three feet from the gravel walking path at the Morikami Museum and posed for as many shots as I wanted to take.

I hadn’t been to the Morikami for probably 20 years but decided to go this morning on a whim after stumbling across the museum’s web site last night while doing something completely unrelated.

Last time I was there, the place was comprised of a small museum building, a wooden bridge and a pond with some of the largest goldfish I had ever seen.

All that is still there, but it is dwarfed by what has been added. There are half a dozen varieties of Japanese gardens along a walking trail at least half a mile long, a big museum building with exhibits, a theatre, a replica of a tea house, a museum store, and a fantastic outdoor cafe that serves astoundingly good Japanese food at astoundingly reasonable prices.

I had what is known as a bento box for lunch. This is a lacquered tray with five compartments filled with yummy stuff including pot stickers, sushi, shrimp teriyaki, chicken teriyaki, Japanese eggplant and a chunk of fish. With iced tea this came to $15, which is the standard price for lunch around City Place, but this was the most expensive thing on the menu at Morikami. You could easily lunch on the deck overlooking two lakes at Morikami for half the price.

I spent three hours walking around and having lunch. I was so impressed, I signed up as a member for $55. That means instead of spending $12 to get in, I can go every day for a year and pay no admission. Except Mondays. They are closed on Mondays.

I plan to go back often, take a Kindle and read for a while in one of the deeply shaded alcoves along the walking trail, then return to the main building for lunch.

Since I know only a few friends an relatives read this blog, let me ask you all a favor. Don’t tell anyone about this. Just go. It is way cool.

Written by Charles Keefer

July 22, 2010 at 7:10 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I haven’t been there since they were building the place.

    ksteinhoff

    July 22, 2010 at 7:25 pm

  2. I agree. Morikami Museum has changed from years ago and the walking trails are great.

    However, next time you might want to also check out the American Orchid Society gardens that are directly south of Morikami. I went there last June when there was talk of them maybe having to close because of lack of funding. To my knowledge that did not happen though. They have a nice greenhouse and also paths through various orchid gardens, although it was almost too warm in June to be outdoors.

    I seem to recall that you can look north and see part of Morikami’s buildings as you walk the paths at the Orchid Society. You can get some really nice photos there, too.

    Ellen K

    July 22, 2010 at 7:46 pm

  3. Looks like a Great Blue Heron to me. We’ll have to go to both the Morikami and the Orchid Society gardens next time I am down there. Sounds lovely.

    Carol Keefer

    July 23, 2010 at 10:40 am


Leave a Reply

