Charles Keefer's Blog

Rant: do not read if you don’t want a rant

with 2 comments

There are two things I am waiting for with baited breath, the mid-term elections and the post-Obama what it was like in the White House books.

I’d love a crystal ball that tells me whether the Republican strategy of JUST SAY NO has worked.

I can’t get away from the fact that the policy looks racist on its face. And, since most of the Republican party looks racist anyway, well…

I just want to know if the American public is buying it.

I don’t expect them to know anything about the fact that the filibuster has never been used to shut down Congress before – or that the Democrats haven’t made the Republicans stand up and read the Manhattan phone book for hours on end to make it real.

I just want to know whether the public knows that the Republicans have killed their best chance for health care since then 1930’s (we don’t count the Clintons).

I also want to know who convinced Obama that we should stay with George Walker Bush’s policies on two – we won’t say unconstitutional, just undocumented – wars and the Gitmo’s and wiretapping that goes along with them. Does the ghost of Dick Cheney still stalk the halls of the West Wing?

We won’t talk about the economy. That his advisors are from Goldman Sachs is almost a given – the only solution for which is to burn your credit cards, give up your McMansion, declare bankruptcy, sell your SUV, and move into a trailer where you should have stayed in the first place.

And now we have an ecological disaster that dwarfs our other problems. Blowing New Orleans away in a hurricane is nothing compared to blowing away the entire Gulf of Mexico with a run-away oil well.

And, by the way, thank you George Walker Bush. We couldn’t have had these disasters without you. Can I offer you a pretzel?

George Walker Bush.

If you have three names in a newspaper story, you did something bad wrong. Every perp has three names.

Need I say more?

Written by Charles Keefer

July 6, 2010 at 11:06 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Well, if the polls are right, we’re doomed! We’ve become a nation that is either too stupid, too self centered — or maybe both — to get us out of the jam we’re in.

    But I have a weird feeling about this. I think in the age of answering machines, cell phones and other wireless communications, traditional polling doesn’t work anymore. I volunteered to make calls for the Obama campaign. Of about 300 calls I made one Saturday, I only got about 15 people who actually picked up. And they were almost all older folks. My fellow callers said they got about the same results. And this was about the same for other campaigns I worked on or volunteered for. True, when I talked into the answering machine, I identified why I was calling. But I have a feeling the result would not have been different if I said I was from the Gallup poll. Our land line rings off the hook every night and we don’t pick up unless someone leaves a message.

    Now, I only got a “C” in statistics — and that included a section on polling — but I just don’t think there is a way to mathematically correct for this vast under representation of huge swaths of the population. (It’s illegal to poll cell phone numbers and no one yet has figured out a way to accurately poll on the Internet).

    I guess we’ll see. But I’m a Democrat, and I just don’t see us taking the thumping everyone else is predicting. I just don’t see how a message of “we opposed everything Obama wanted to do but offered no rational ideas” will work for the Republicans. And, on top of that, they are running a slate of candidates that would have made William F. Buckley sit the election out.

    I guess we’ll check my theory in November.

    Scott Campbell

    July 14, 2010 at 7:31 pm

  2. I just found you and am so HAPPY I did….Thanks!!!

    Cathy

    August 20, 2010 at 10:36 am


Leave a Reply

