Charles Keefer's Blog

Outwitting the weather

with 2 comments

The photo above is a substitute picture. It is there in lieu of one I wanted to take today.

It has been raining in West Palm Beach. Several times I’ve spent the day with the weather channel on the TV in the background, occasionally checking as the green blotches on the map move all around and occasionally over my position. It has been threatening all day long most days, but it actually seems to rain in the afternoon.

This morning I decided to outwit the weather. I set off at 10:30 in the morning on a 12-mile ride to the Palm Beach Inlet and back, trusty camera in its waterproof case in the back basket of my recumbent. Just to be sure, I didn’t check the radar figuring that would only bring bad luck.

I was rained on or drizzled on for all 12 miles. The camera never came out of the case.

So instead of the photo I would have taken, here is one of a sailboat regatta shot a while back from the docks at the Palm Beach Inlet.

At least I kept the geography correct.

Written by Charles Keefer

July 6, 2010 at 8:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yep, it rained early today in WPB. It was pouring where I work way before lunch time, which is definitely not the usual pattern. On the positive side, the grass is greener!

    Ellen K

    July 6, 2010 at 8:48 pm

  2. We’d give anything for a little rain here in DC.

    Scott Campbell

    July 8, 2010 at 7:07 pm


Leave a Reply

