Charles Keefer's Blog

Best BBQ Sandwich Ever

with 2 comments

I finally got around to having lunch at BB King’s spot in City Place.

It was a late lunch – around 2 p.m.

I did the pork BBQ sandwich with fries and slaw because it was at the top of the menu and was printed in red, which kinda indicates it is a signature dish.

Boy, was I surprised.

That was the best pulled pork BBQ sandwich I can remember eating. Anywhere.

For those of you from South Carolina, it was better than Maurice Bessinger’s stuff.

Tender pork, good bun, great sauce. Good fries.

But, nothing is perfect. The coleslaw sucked. The good part is that they only gave me enough to fill one of those paper pill cups you get in a hospital. They must know it is a weakness.

I am a big fan of cole slaw. I eat it by the gallon if it is good.

I think it is a perfect counterpoint to good BBQ.

The barbarians from North Carolina actually put it in a BBQ sandwich having not the knowledge that it is a side dish.

It is on par with the hush puppy, which is still served in my home state, and gives a satisfying crunch, a different taste, and sucks up all the sauciness in your mouth so you can again attack the taste of pig and tomato and mustard with no regrets.

BB King’s cole slaw was the worst I have had in recent memory. There are so many things wrong with it that I am at a loss as to where to start.

Let’s see – drowned in a smarny white sauce, no tang, and not even chopped right?

And, if it was good, which it was not, not enough of it.

If I was a barbarian from North Carolina, I might want enough of it to put on top of my pulled pork sandwich, which is more than a paper pill cup can hold.

Since I am from South Carolina, where it is a side dish, I want an honest scoop – like ice cream.

So I would say to blues god BB King, the guy who is doing your cole slaw in West Palm Beach doesn’t know how to do it and your menu guy in New York doesn’t know the value of it. It is not enough that you do the best BBQ I have had in a long time. You also must do good cole slaw.

And to everyone else, go have the BBQ. It is wonderful. Just don’t touch the slaw.

Written by Charles Keefer

March 31, 2010 at 9:20 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Franklin’s, a micrbrewery near College Park, is supposed to have really good cole slaw. At least one of my colleagues likes it – but he is from Minnesota. You will have to try it when you are hear.

    Carol K

    April 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm

  2. Oops, that’s here.

    Carol K

    April 1, 2010 at 5:40 pm


Leave a Reply

