Charles Keefer's Blog

Birthday in DC

with 6 comments

The rumor is true. My birthday was on the 19th. Thanks, Ken, for the good wishes.

My sister’s was the 20th.

I just returned from Washington, DC, where my sister and I celebrated by taking each other out and somehow managing to pay for our own birthday dinners. She paid for hers and I paid for mine. Don’t ask. It all comes out in the wash.

In two days, while my sister was working, I managed to visit Arlington National Cemetery, the Washington Monument, the Vietnam Memorial, the Lincoln Memorial, both the east and west galleries of the National Museum of Art, the Newseum, the National Museum of the American Indian and the National Air and Space Museum.

Boy, do my legs hurt right now.

This was a beautiful morning in Washington. Blue skies, reasonable temperatures – a perfect day for a tourist. I was thinking of extending my stay until I heard the weather forecast – rain, sleet and snow likely tonight. I got on my flight back to West Palm Beach.

I saw some amazing things. Remind me to tell you about:

  • The ice skating rink half a block from the entrance to the White House that doesn’t work.
  • Why one hour of my time at The Palm Beach Post can be translated into one hour of my time getting from Washington National Airport (nobody calls it the Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport – at least, not these days) to my hotel – or 15 minutes, depending on the carbon footprint.
  • The cuisine at the National Museum of the American Indian.
  • Whoopi Goldberg at the National Air and Space Museum.
  • The reason the Newseum has a sign saying that one exhibit may not be suitable for children when the exhibit of the Washington sniper’s car trunk with the hole in it that they shot from isn’t.
  • The Old Ebbits Grill.
  • Why I hate people who wear their convention name tags into the bar.

The photo above is a styling of the Iwo Jima memorial on the outskirts of the Arlington National Cemetery. The shot was a total accident, but I like it.

The photo below is a view from inside the Lincoln Memorial.

Written by Charles Keefer

January 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. My legs and feet are really glad I had to work. Wonder how many miles you did?
    You paid yours because you whipped out your card before I could (and the waiter gave you the bill). And I paid mine because I invited friends to join us (and because you had already paid for yours). Not so strange. You didn’t mention how delicious it all was, yum.
    Hey, the bag of gifts you gave me is endless – I just found another item (Georgia O’Keefe cards)! Thanks, and hey, please send the warmer weather back up.

    Carol K

    January 22, 2010 at 2:24 pm

  2. Nice images. I just digitized a pro-war march I shot when I was in D.C. for a photo conference in 1971.

    They look like Teabaggers Lite. Marchers who waved the Confederate Flag and Wallace signs; pro-Vietnam War, anti-communist, bring back prayer to the schools; block Nixon from going to China, all cheered on from the sidelines by Nazis.

    ksteinhoff

    January 22, 2010 at 10:36 pm

  3. Chuck, you were in DC and didn’t give us a call!

    Scott Campbell

    January 26, 2010 at 3:36 pm

  4. Hey Scott.

    Sorry. I have no excuse. Had I thought about it, I would have invited you and Lori to my birthday dinner.

    Planing is not my forte. I had no scheduled meetings during my last 15 years at The Post and I have nothing on my iCal now.

    I’ll be back in DC in the spring. We should get together then.

    Mia culpa.

    cmk

    Charles Keefer

    January 26, 2010 at 10:23 pm

  5. Hey Chuck, no problem. Just wanted to give you a hard time. But let us know if you’re coming up in the spring and we’ll try and round up all the PB Post ex-pats.

    Scott Campbell

    January 27, 2010 at 4:30 pm

  6. Scott,

    Excellent. Can’t wait. Tell me a good time.

    I want to see the cherry blossoms. Had enough of the turd blossoms.

    Pick a date and I’ll be there.

    cmk

    Charles Keefer

    February 3, 2010 at 10:04 pm


Leave a Reply

