Charles Keefer's Blog

Freakin’ Rain

with 3 comments

Freakin’ rain is right. I got pretty much soaked riding from City Place to the Greek Orthodox church on Southern and Flagler for the Freakbike Militia’s quarterly ride through downtown West Palm Beach at 7:30 p.m.

No pictures because when I wasn’t riding, it was raining.

Once we left the church, the rain stopped and I was almost dry by the time we hit the Nancy Graham fountain. I’d say there were about 50 bikes in various stages of freakdom. There was a tandem pulling a trailer on which rode a dog. There was a guy hauling a lighted Christmas tree. There were several super-tall bikes and several super-small bikes. There were bikes with Christmas lights and tinsel. Then there was my recumbent – the only one in the pack. I guess that was freaky enough to be allowed back.

Once we got to the fountain, it started raining again so I got soaked going back home.

Freakin’ rain.

The Freakbike Militia rides once every three months. Don’t know where to go to get an announcement of the next ride. Hopefully Ken Steinhoff, who also made the ride and whose bike is just naturally freakin’ with all the stuff he has bolted to it, will have it on his Palm Beach Bike Tours blog.

Despite the rain, it was fun. I found myself riding along, madly ringing my bike bell at people in City Place, and just grinning.

And now for the Ride Report:

# Date Route Miles Total
9 Dec. 16 Palm Beach Lake Trail 13.0 112.5
10 Dec. 16 Freak Bike Militia 8.4 120.9
Written by Charles Keefer

December 16, 2009 at 9:23 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sorry I missed it. I’ve only been on two of their rides, but loved them. And I also got soaked on my last ride with them.

    Here’s a link to their forum site. One of the topics listed is a “coming events” item:

    http://www.forum.freakbikenation.com/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=acabd4521a69a8eab9e4f2b4bff4ced1

    I don’t follow their forum much, it’s easier to rely on Ken’s posts about upcoming rides.

    George P

    December 19, 2009 at 8:36 am

  2. my cousin and Sister were there! Her friends are all Freak Bike Militia and she is often in charge of the Beer! They are fun trips, I reccommend them to anyone who enjoys riding AND has a sense of Humor!

    Luney

    December 30, 2009 at 1:06 pm

  3. CorrectioN : My sister would like me to Clarify that she is usually helping out at the drink stations along the route…=P what ev. It’s still a feel good ride. The rain did make it hard to keep track of people though..

    Luney

    December 30, 2009 at 1:22 pm


Leave a Reply

