Charles Keefer's Blog

Freedom of Speech

with 4 comments

I just went on the Palm Beach Post web site. I should have known better.

I tried to respond to the Tiger Woods story.

I spent 15 minutes composing my message and 15 minutes editing it. That’s about my standard. I hate mistakes.

Then I pasted it and was asked to retype two words that looked like Sanskrit.

I was wearing my glasses, but I could no more read those words than fly to the moon on the back of a butterfly.

As far as I can tell, I was blocked from posting a reasoned comment with no repulsive words and certainly nothing that looked like libel because I could not dicypher a scrawl that I would dare any of their editors to translate.

I think others found this difficult also. There were four comments. I congratulate those who got past this block, but I must asume that either their words were easier to figure out or they know how to translate runes.

It is pretty easy to edit submissions from the public if only they lived through the time in Bletchley Park and have the skills necessary to file them.

It is easier if you have no submissions.

I have no more words for you.

Written by Charles Keefer

December 11, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. You think that’s hard?
    Try looking on their Web pages for a story you liked in the the print version and want to pass along to friends. Section front stories are often buried on the Web page and even their search function sometimes fails to find them.

    Then if you DO find it, it appears without the photos or great infographics that helped tell the story.

    And people LIKE getting their news from the Web? Amazing.

    George P

    December 12, 2009 at 9:53 pm

  2. I tried to post a rational and reasonable response to a story about one of the many bike-motorist conflicts to counterbalance yahoos on both sides of the issue.

    It didn’t show up.

    I sent an email to Tim Burke asking if there was a reason the message would have been killed, when ones advocating running over cyclists (literally) appeared.

    He didn’t bother to reply. I didn’t send the message to a public mailbox, I sent it to the internal address that I would have used if I still worked there. You’d think that 35 years in the joint would have earned me a Bedbug Letter, if nothing else.

    On the other hand, I sent a circulation complaint to Berry Berg and Chuck Girardi and got responses almost immediately; 20 minutes later, I got a call from a supervisor; the next day I got a followup call from another supervisor.

    When I complained about Burke’s non-response to a web person, the response was, “Don’t feel bad. He doesn’t answer my email, either.”

    ksteinhoff

    December 13, 2009 at 3:36 pm

  3. What did the TW post say?? Did you end up posting it there or elsewhere?

    Pam

    December 16, 2009 at 6:39 pm

  4. Sorry. I didn’t keep a copy of the TW post. I think the gist of it was that the boy married too young, which seems to be a common mistake, and that if he claims residence in Florida, his wife is only going to get half a billion leaving him with enough money to buy an aircraft carrier. He could put a green at one end of the flight deck, a tee at the other, and he wouldn’t over-drive it if the ship was sailing into the wind.

    Not good enough for Leno, and, without Indiana Jones to translate, not good enough for The Palm Beach Post either.

    And notice, Cox Corporate people who pay for my medical insurance, I didn’t say anything bad about The Post. I just said I found it impossible to enrich your database with a comment because of the anti-spam filter.

    Charles Keefer

    December 16, 2009 at 9:45 pm


Leave a Reply

