Charles Keefer's Blog

Kick the tires and light the fires

leave a comment »

Don Ramon is opening on Clematis Street.

I pumped up the tires and took out my baby recumbent today for the first time since laying off cycling at the start of the summer from hell. The weather was cool, comfortable, and extremely welcomed after the hottest summer I can remember.

The Palm Beach Lake Trail has lost none of its charm since last I rode it. It still is a car free ride through manicured foliage past homes nobody I know can afford. Christmas lights were going up on the house just east of the docks at the north end of the trail. There are either new buoys in the inlet, or old ones I don’t remember that have been repainted.

John F. Kennedy’s presidential yacht, the Honey Fitz, is no longer docked at the first pier north of the Flagler Memorial Bridge and there are only a handful of yachts along the trail until you reach the Sailfish Club.

On the way home, I saw the signs saying a new Don Ramon’s is going in at Clematis and Olive and will feature a 24-hour window. This is good news since Don Ramon’s is an old favorite for lots of former Palm Beach Post people. And a 24-hour window means you can feed very late at night if you can muster an armed guard to get you there.

So there you have it. The 2009-2010 bicycle season for me is now officially open. Note that I start it well before New Year’s Day so I won’t have to give anything away on this one. I won’t project a mileage figure for the season. I’ll also limit the math to 1/10ths of a mile instead of 1/100ths because my bicycle computers are off by as much as half a mile over a 12 mile course and I don’t want to do a Steinhoff with GPS machines and software. And I’ll tell you my route.

Good luck to all of you and remember, it is all about the ride.

Ride report:

# Date Route Miles Total
1 Nov. 17 Palm Beach Lake Trail 11.5 11.5
2 Nov. 18 Palm Beach Lake Trail 11.4 22.9
Written by Charles Keefer

November 17, 2009 at 7:11 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

