Charles Keefer's Blog

End of Contest

with 4 comments

By viral request, that is all of you, I am ending the contest.

There is no way I can make 3,000 miles a year on a bicycle in South Florida. The summer is just too long and too hot.

The winner is Jan Norris.

Not only did she come closest to picking the day, but she also is the only one of you who needs lights.

I must say that I am disappointed. I thought I could make it.

But Norris was right. I couldn’t take the heat. Global warming and age, you know.

A couple of years ago I rode during the summer. I actually commuted to The Post from 10 miles out. A lot.

This year I just couldn’t do it.

Lazy is a word that comes to mind, but it isn’t that. Ask Steinhoff how many miles he put on this summer and he will measure it in light years but only because he rode his computer a gazillion times around the world and his bike around Lake Worth only a couple of times.

I didn’t expect to complete 3,000 miles and win the contest. I just didn’t think the summer would be so crushing. And, as far as I can tell, summer was over only a week or so ago.

I could still finish, but I would have to ride four hours a day for the rest of the year. That isn’t going to happen.

Instead, I’m going on a cruise. There will be bicycle simulators in the gym, which I will ignore. There will be Moet beside the hot tub and Rum Runners at the pool bar.

I’ll pump the tires and light the fires when I get back.

I’ll order Jan’s lights next week.

Thank you all for your interest, your comments, and your fly reports. And thank you mostly for being my friends.

Written by Charles Keefer

November 10, 2009 at 9:32 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I won’t mock you because you have more miles this year that I do.

    Like you, summer sapped all the fun out of riding.

    But, things are getting better. It’s starting to get to be riding weather in FL now.

    And, what do you mean Jan needs lights? The only use they’ll get is to look under the refrigerator to see if the dust bunnies are breeding.

    ksteinhoff

    November 11, 2009 at 9:09 am

  2. I won’t mock you either. My mileage is Zero and I don’t have Florida summers as an excuse. Do muggers count?

    Carol K

    November 11, 2009 at 10:30 am

  3. Have fun on the cruise! Will you be blogging from the ship?

    Scott Campbell

    November 12, 2009 at 1:37 pm

  4. Hey Scott. It is only a three-day cruise. And I believe the Bahamas are a dead zone.

    I think I’ll wait until I get back.

    Charles Keefer

    November 13, 2009 at 12:05 am


Leave a Reply

