Charles Keefer's Blog

Feeling good about something

with 4 comments

Greetings and be well, all of you.

For those of you who think my blog is getting negative because I have been riding petroleum powered machines instead of human powered machines, here is a post for you.

I found a nice little restaurant in Hobe Sound called Taste – only because I was riding one of those horrid petrol consuming machines.

The place has all the standard sandwiches and wraps, which I am sure are good. It also has meatloaf. An open faced sandwich on rye with grilled vegetables and, normally, mashed potatoes. They didn’t have any mashed potatoes today, they said, because they did an Octoberfest over the weekend and they were hammered.

I had a choice of regular fries or sweet potato fries. I took the regular.

The brown sauce atop the meat loaf takes four days to make, they said. I’ll leave it to someone more cullinary to comment on that, but it was quite nice. The fries were excellent. The grilled veggies, mostly squash, were a tasty conterpart.

If a restaurant offers meat loaf, I always order it. I figure it takes balls to put meatloaf on a menu – the ultimate comfort food, made by everyone’s mother.

The very best I have had was at the Kona Grill in City Place. They make it with Andouille sausage. Brewzzi in City Place has a meatloaf sandwich and an entre that is exceptional only because of its size.

Taste has a good meatloaf sandwich. I wouldn’t journey up there for it, I’d walk across the street to Kona Grill. But if I was up that way, I’d definitely go have it.

I was impressed enough that I will stop at Taste again and try something else.

It is a good motorcycle ride from West Palm Beach that lets you see that wild stuff north of Jupiter on the way home. It can be done in a few hours.

On a bicycle, it would take me a week.

Written by Charles Keefer

October 26, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s 33 miles one-way from my driveway to Hobe Sound. I used to ride that loop on a regular basis.

    It shouldn’t take you a week to ride that, even at YOUR speeds.

    Ken Steinhoff

    October 27, 2009 at 11:27 am

  2. what was that last milage count, did I win? or do you still have a few miles left in ya!!!!!!!

    bev

    October 27, 2009 at 1:02 pm

  3. Seems every time I get to Taste, they’re out of something…I know they cater a lot there, so maybe it’s just because it’s always the weekend…I had a great salad there once, however.

    Aren’t I the one who said you’d bail in October? Don’t I win? I need lights. I’ve got to get back on the bike, too — and the only way it’s going to be possible in this repressible heat and wind is at night.

    Jan Norris

    November 6, 2009 at 9:13 am

  4. Jan,

    You don’t need lights because I have the bike light you lent me many moons ago. Just waiting for you to ask for it back.

    Charles Keefer

    November 10, 2009 at 10:23 am


Leave a Reply

