Charles Keefer's Blog

Old Lessons

with 2 comments

Sometimes I forget to press the remote button that locks my car. I shouldn’t have to worry about it that much. The parking garage requires an electronic pass to get through the gate. Right?

A month ago, I got a ticket on my windshield. It was from the private security people who police my apartment complex and its parking lot.

The ticket said I should take more care to put things out of sight. A visor and a pair of sunglasses could be seen inside the car. This invites theft, the ticket said.

I, of course, tossed it without a second thought. Who in his right mind would bother to break into a car for a sweaty old visor and a drug store pair of sunglasses.

Yesterday I got in my car and found a talking book CD and an old receipt on the floor. Not normal.

I investigated.

My sweaty head band and my drug store glasses where exactly where they should be.

My Garmin GPS, stored in my glove box, was gone. That’s where the talking book CD and the old receipt came from – the glove box. Out of sight, mind you.

I immediately remembered the note.

When I mentioned this to a friend, here is the response I got.

“Why do you think they call the rent-a-cops?”

Thieves 1, rent-a-cops, 0. Me, out $200.

For years, I had a Mazda Miata. I never locked the thing on the theory that a pocket knife would do more damage to a cloth top than theft would damage anything I stored in the car. Consequently, I kept nothing in the car.

Turns out I was smarter in my youth.

My car still has a cloth top. I’ll buy a new Garmin, but I’ll keep it in the house until I need it.

And I’ll still be nice to the rent-a-cops, even though they could be the culprets.

Bottom line: If you first line of defense is cloth, or is run by somebody else, don’t trust it.

Written by Charles Keefer

October 24, 2009 at 8:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. As the owner of many a rag top — TR3, MGB, Triumph Spitfire and a Miata — I too never locked the car for the same reason. I never got robbed, although in the case of the British cars I think no one wanted to steal the crappy factory installed radios anyway.

    Scott Campbell

    October 25, 2009 at 1:44 pm

  2. it was probably the rent-a-cops that stole it!!! it was the wackenhut security that molested the kid at Good Hospital a while back!!!!!I in any case (unlike you) I would complain BITTERLY to the establishment, since the stuff was in the glove box, that you are not only paying for a parking space )or two) but security, which in this case was not doing there job, therefore you should have free parking rent until the price of tour garmin is paid for , or they should pay for a new one. you never know it could have been someone who got hold of a set of master keys, perhaps you DID lock your car

    bev

    October 25, 2009 at 4:37 pm


Leave a Reply

