Charles Keefer's Blog

Unreal – or maybe too real

with 3 comments

01_SF

Nobody riding on the street should own the motorcycle I just bought.

This is a Ducati Street Fighter. It produces 155 horsepower at 9500 rpm and weighs in at 373 pounds.

That power to weight ratio is lethal.

The thing will do in excess of 200 mph stock.

First gear will take you from 0 to 45 so fast your eyes will melt.

Fortunately, it is civil, if balky, at under 4,000 rpm. I’m hoping it gets smoother with some miles. But once it hits 4,200 rpm, watch out. It will jerk you head back and there better not be anything in front of you.

I’ve had it up to 6,000 rpm, but only in second gear. It tops at 11,000. At 6,000 rpm in second gear you are doing something like 55 mph.

I’ve had third gear as low as 30 mph, but it complains about it. You can pass anything on the turnpike in third gear.

I’ve had it in top gear at 70 on the turnpike – notice that this is a legal speed. I did this in order to break it in. At this gear and speed, the engine is not even in the power band.

I can’t imagine what a less experienced motorcyclist would do with this machine other than lose it and die.

So why in hell do I have this machine that calls itself a Street Fighter but is nothing at all other than a track bike?

Well, it is because I always wanted to own the finest of something, and if I can break this horse – learn how to ride it – it will be a great machine.

The suspension is so far superior to anything I have ever ridden on the street that it is ridiculous to compare. Remember, this is bike number 12 for me.

It faintly reminds me of a BMW – perfectly balanced and intuitive – you think your way around corners. Only on the Ducati, the bike says “I’ll do this, but if I did it 20 mph faster it would feel better.”

And it is water cooled. That means you can take it out and ride all day long and it won’t complain. I could point it at the Tail of the Dragon and be the fastest bike out there and not question the 500 miles it took to get there.

I have three bikes capable of traversing the United State.

Why do I have this one?

Maybe it is because of Texas.

There are parts of Texas where you could do 200 mph and nobody would be there to see you.

Can you imagine getting a ticket for being 130 miles an hour over the limit?

Written by Charles Keefer

September 29, 2009 at 10:01 pm

Posted in Motorcycles

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Speechless

    Carol K

    September 30, 2009 at 3:03 pm

  2. speechless is right, i can’t worry anymore , it’s useless. go ahead kill yourself already!!!!

    bev

    October 2, 2009 at 6:45 pm

  3. What, and not ride tomorrow?

    Not a chance.

    Charles Keefer

    October 5, 2009 at 4:12 am


Leave a Reply

