Charles Keefer's Blog

Palm Beach Overkill

with 7 comments

docks-cops

When I hit the Palm Beach inlet docks today, I thought I had stumbled onto a law enforcement convention. There were five police cars, seven police officers, a police boat and four Coast Guard boats hovering around two scrawny Black guys in a fishing boat.

Of course, today was the one day in four months that I did not pack my camera, so the above blur from my iPhone is all the documentation I have. Let that be a lesson. At least carry a point and shoot.

I watched as they searched the fishing boat but I didn’t see them come up with anything and the guys were not put in handcuffs by the time I left. Didn’t see anything on The Palm Beach Post site.

But five police cars, seven police officers, a police boat and four Coast Guard boats? Guess it was a slow Monday on the cop beat.

Ride report:

Date Miles Total Remaining Percent
May 11 19.00 1040.47 1959.53 34.68
Written by Charles Keefer

May 11, 2009 at 7:48 pm

Posted in Bicycles

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. We ran into what must have been a major incident Saturday night (Sunday morning) coming back from the Full Moon ride just as we came into Wellington on Southern.

    The eastbound lanes were blocked off; there must have been at least eight or 10 cop / SO cars and fire-rescue. A chopper was buzzing around overhead.

    After The Post didn’t run anything of the last spot news I offered them, I decided that I’m done offering it.

    That’s just one more step to being really retired. Two months ago I’d have shot it. Six weeks ago I’d have probably called it in. This weekend I kept driving.

    ksteinhoff

    May 11, 2009 at 7:58 pm

  2. I hit 1,520 miles for the year this morning.

    Where are your mileage updates? You’re almost a month behind.

    Cheers,
    Matt

    Matthew Steinhoff

    June 6, 2009 at 10:16 am

  3. Can I borrow some miles?

    Been on vacation and avoiding rain.

    No miles.

    Charles Keefer

    June 8, 2009 at 9:26 pm

  4. Isn’t vacation the best time to ride your bike?

    So are you saying you have no miles to report?

    Cheers,
    Matt

    Matthew Steinhoff

    June 8, 2009 at 9:28 pm

  5. How can you be on vacation when you are retired?

    Carol Keefer

    June 9, 2009 at 12:33 pm

  6. Isn’t retired the best time to ride your bike?

    Who is left in the mileage contest? Has anyone been eliminated already? Can you give us a status report now that we’re at the halfway point?

    Cheers,
    Matt

    Matthew Steinhoff

    June 9, 2009 at 2:17 pm

  7. Channel Wasson is eliminated. The rest of you picked sometime in the fall.

    Come November, I’m taking my carbon fiber bike off the wall, but for now I’ll just crank up an iPod and sweat on a recumbent.

    Charles Keefer

    June 26, 2009 at 3:54 pm


Leave a Reply

