Charles Keefer's Blog

A Drummer – Without the Drums

with 8 comments

fury-band

This is the band on the Key West Fury, the sailing catamaran on which I took a sunset cruise a while back. It is notable because the drummer isn’t playing drums. He is playing a wooden box with what looks like an old sock full of buckshot. Saves a lot on setup time and he was good at it

I know you all hoped my sloth at posting on this web site was matched by my bicycle riding. Sorry to disappoint. I’m posting 116 miles for the last 10 days. That puts me a bit ahead for May, but still running behind on the yearly goal because of a slouchy April. By picking up the daily pace a bit, I hope to be even or better by the end of the month.

Meanwhile, I’m getting in a lot of guitar time (I’m trying to learn to play, did I tell you?) and I have a World of Warcraft Death Knight that should go to 80 by the end of the week. 80 is the Holy Grail. It is maxed out. Yeeehaw!

Ride report:

Date Miles Total Remaining Percent
April 29 21.66 905.29 2094.71 30.17
April 30 19.43 924.72 2075.28 30.82
May 1 23.62 948.34 2051.66 31.61
May 3 17.85 966.19 2033.81 32.20
May 5 18.95 985.14 2014.86 32.83
May 8 17.34 1002.48 1997.52 33.41
May 10 18.99 1021.47 1978.53 34.05
Written by Charles Keefer

May 10, 2009 at 7:37 pm

Posted in Bicycles, Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When you didn’t even acknowledge my invitation to the LOST Full Moon Ride, I was tempted to do the fly check, but decided not to bother.

    With the summer temps moving in, I figured the neighbors would call the cops after a few days.

    Here’s what you missed.

    ksteinhoff

    May 10, 2009 at 8:17 pm

  2. Oops. I missed it. Sorry.

    The full moon was magnificent. Saw it coming off a ride on the Palm Beach Trail.

    I should start packing my telescope. I was an hour away from home when it was total over the Atlantic about 15 degrees over the horizon and you could pick out the mara with your naked eye.

    Can you imagine being the first person to see it with a telescope?

    Charles Keefer

    May 10, 2009 at 9:20 pm

  3. Nice work cracking a thousand miles. I’m a bit worried about all the 18s and 20s I’m seeing in your log. I much preferred the 12s and 13s from earlier in the year.

    With 18s, I have to ride more than twice a week to keep up with you.

    —Farmer Matt

    Matthew Steinhoff

    May 11, 2009 at 6:28 am

  4. I was just posting accounts of the weekend ride to some biking blogs. Along with it, I posted the link to the previous ride where we thought you might be a candidate for a buttectomy.

    When I looked for the posting using the Google search engine on my site, I was amused to see the following ads pop up:

    Ads by Google
    Looking for a Booty Call?
    OnlineBootyCall.XXX Don’t Promise Marriage – Just Date! Join the Casual Dating Community
    Meet Naughty Girls – Free
    URL.deleted.

    I’m not sure what triggered those results: your name or the topic.

    ksteinhoff

    May 11, 2009 at 10:24 am

  5. Oh, didn’t I tell you? I did their web site. The fee was, shall we say, negotiable.

    Charles Keefer

    May 11, 2009 at 7:52 pm

  6. Farmer Matt,

    You are 300 miles ahead of me. I pose no threat. I’m just trying to get back on schedule.

    If I can ever remember to pack my iPod, you might start to worry. I have a new collection of Sousa marches. That could kick me up beyond the 10 mph limit on the Palm Beach Bike Trail.

    Charles Keefer

    May 11, 2009 at 8:00 pm

  7. Unless you’re wearing fins and a mask, I doubt you’ve been riding lately…did you ever post the dates we think you’re going to kick out?

    JanN

    May 27, 2009 at 11:58 pm

  8. He’s so far ahead of me in miles for the year that I’m not going to mock him.

    He IS still alive, right?

    I thought maybe the PB cops had taken him out for mocking them in his last (and I mean LAST) blog entry.

    ksteinhoff

    May 28, 2009 at 12:07 am


Leave a Reply

