Charles Keefer's Blog

The Weather Is Here, Wish You Were Beautiful

with 4 comments

sunet-cruise1

As you may know, before turning into Jack Bauer for a week, I cruised down to Key West on my trusty bike – the BMW R1200-RT, the most magnificent touring motorcycle ever manufactured – for a bit of vacation. That’s something I haven’t allowed myself in a couple of years.

Among my adventures was the traditional sunset cruise. We were on a big sailing catamaran and the captain, who must have some photo experience in his background, positioned us perfectly to silhouette the sloop with the setting sun in the photo above.

I also para-sailed and jet skied for the first time on an all day sailing adventure on the same boat, the Key West Fury, the next day.

Staying in Key West this time of year is not cheap, so it is nice when your hotel is convenient to the action. I stayed at the Almond Tree Inn at Truman and Duval and was so pleased I extended the stay for a night. They do a nice but not fancy continental breakfast and happy hour each day. The hot tub and pool were just outside the door. Blue Heaven, the restaurant with chickens running under the tables, was four blocks away and the legendary Green Parrot bar another couple blocks. And they have wi-fi on the patio.

Just by chance, I saw on Facebook that Mary Kate Leming was also in Key West. We hooked up and had lunch at Blue Heaven while Jerry was out doing business.

The BMW was just a joy to ride down and back. It is so smooth and so comfortable that the only times I had to dismount were when I needed a cigarette. With every other bike I’ve owned, it became mandatory after an hour to get off.

In other news, five weeks ago Phil Elliott of the Palm Beach Trail Bike Shop fell after finishing eighth in a bike race in Tampa. He fractured his pelvis in two places. I’m happy to report that, after a week in bed and some time on crutches, Phil is back at the shop and back on his bike and hopes to race again next month.

What is up with Matt? I hear he did a century the other day and now has more than 1,200 miles on the year. That is a much faster pace than I think he promised. You go, Matt, and take your father with you. I hear he has about 12 miles on the year.

A Key West vacation and five seasons of 24 are not conducive to bicycle miles, so I’m falling behind. But I’m not ready to blow up and die just yet. Here are the stats.

Ride report:

Date Miles Total Remaining Percent
April 8 14.67 796.73 2203.27 26.55
April 9 17.34 814.07 2185.93 27.13
April 10 21.20 835.27 2164.73 27.84
April 11 19.37 854.64 2164.73 28.48
April 27 11.68 866.32 2133.68 28.87
April 28 17.31 883.63 2116.37 29.45
April 29 21.66 905.29 2094.71 30.17
Written by Charles Keefer

April 29, 2009 at 8:56 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice boat pic. It would have been more impressive if it had been a sunrise instead of a sunset.

    Yes, you are way ahead of me. I’m in the 300-mile range. You have done much better than I would even have predicted.

    I’m still saying that you’ll blow up when hot weather gets here.

    Did you have a nice visit with Dick Cheney?

    ksteinhoff

    April 30, 2009 at 7:53 am

  2. Actually, Dick was very nice. Of course, I had to check my constitutional rights at the door and pretend to agree with him that torturing people is a perfectly fine thing to do. But he does drink a nice Scotch.

    Would have gotten a sunrise photo, but nobody in Key West gets up that early.

    Charles Keefer

    April 30, 2009 at 11:07 am

  3. Nice photo, but what’s this about first vacation in awhile. What about all those cruises and trips to the mountains I keep hearing about?
    Re; Dick Cheney and 24, check out Maureen Dowd opinion coloumn on the NY Times.

    Carol Keefer

    April 30, 2009 at 12:00 pm

  4. I did a century two weeks ago and 150 miles this weekend. My total total mileage for the last 30 days is 438.3 miles. That has to be a personal record.

    My total for the year is 1,386.4.

    That said, I’m going to be slowing down. I was racking up miles to in training for a century and the MS 150. I am absolutely not riding this Saturday morning. Now that we’re in summer and I have nothing on my schedule, I’m not sure if I’ll keep up the pace.

    I, too, just got back from the Keys. The MS 150 half way point was Key Largo. Saturday night, I got to watch the sun set from the dock at the Stone Ledge Paradise Hotel.

    Cheers,
    Matt

    Matthew Steinhoff

    May 4, 2009 at 8:18 pm


Leave a Reply

