Charles Keefer's Blog

The Good Stuff

with 4 comments

powers

I was told that this is the best thing since, well, everything.

So I went to Palm Beach to find some.

Guess what? The guy at the liquor store on Royal Poinciana told me with a straight face that Powers Gold Label cannot be had here.

I gave him a week to check and that is what he said again. “It is not distributed here.”

Total Wine in the Gardens has it.

I’m tired of trying to find a Scotch I like. Apologies to Scott Campbell, but I’m going Irish.

And, yes, this may well be the best stuff since, well, everything.

Ride report:

Date Miles Total Remaining Percent
March 8 37.00 583.53 2416.47 19.45
March 10 12.97 596.42 2403.58 19.88
March 12 21.02 617.44 2382.56 20.58
Written by Charles Keefer

March 12, 2009 at 10:50 pm

Posted in Blog, Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I don’t know !!! “there’s rain a comin” and only 20% done!!! looking good for Sept.

    bev

    March 15, 2009 at 10:21 pm

  2. Well, I don’t know if anything can replace my Lagavulin, but I’ll give it a try. I live by one of the best liquor stores in DC (Is that a surprise?) so I bet they carry it.

    Scott Campbell

    March 18, 2009 at 12:09 pm

  3. How’d I miss this post? Glad you’ve seen the light and switched to Irish. I like Midleton (very rare), Shay likes Tyrconnell. Will have to give the Powers a try, but don’t think I’ve seen it at Corridor, must find our from Scott where the ‘best liquor store’ in DC is located.

    Carol Keefer

    April 15, 2009 at 9:02 pm

  4. Save me a sip, Keefer, and I’ll give it a go. I’m a GRITS*, though, so it’s bourbon for me most of the time when I’m sipping to soothe.

    A former Post photog (Thomas Graves) turned me on to Maker’s Mark – and by fluke, I soon after interviewed Bill Samuels, Jr. of the distillery’s royalty.

    I’ve moved along the premium path and sampled many other bourbons, but maybe the sentimentality of it all keeps me coming back to M Mark. I’ll definitely use it in my mint julep come Derby Day. Oh heck: why wait?

    *Girl raised in the South.

    JanN

    April 22, 2009 at 12:25 am


Leave a Reply

