Charles Keefer's Blog

Button This

with 3 comments

Political buttons on display - including one for cyclists.

Political buttons on display - including one for cyclists.

My friend Tom Peeling, who still has a job at the place I used to work, annually celebrates the birth of President Teddy Roosevelt. He also has the collecting bug – something I can identify with because I seem to be collecting bicycles and motorcycles. Once a year he puts on a show for those similarly impaired. I got talked into going to this year’s show at the Elks Club on Belvedere Road by my friend Jim Reeder, who has a thing for geneology, which, I guess is similar. Collecting ancestors and all that.

Talking with the people at the show was amazing. One guy had a huge display of buttons from the last Presidential campaign – buttons no one else had. Turns out he has five different button presses and makes his own. I can understand collecting the things, but rolling your own? He probably does better at actual historical events than at historical shows.

Another guy had a button I really liked. It said “November 4, 2008 – Oooo shit” but more graphically. The guy told me it was produced by the Colorado office of the Republican Party and that there were 800 minted. Knowing that kind of detail about anything so obscure, especially since I’m sure he knew as much about every other button he had, is amazing.

I almost bought one for $5, but then I asked myself what I would do with it. Probably just throw it in the catch-all basket with my other two buttons – a peace sign and a March on Washington button – from college days.

This trivia question went around – “What was Barry Goldwater’s wife’s name?” I had no clue, but I immediately rewound my memory to check if I knew the names of all the President’s wives under whom I have lived. While I was doing that, another collector piped up. “Peggy.”

Actually Margaret “Peggy” Johnson, according to Wikipedia.

Peeling showed us a straight razor with a little, tiny picture of Teddy Roosevelt and one of his running mates on the handle. I noted the price tag – $1,850.

Reeder found a whiskey glass from the Presidential yacht Sequoia. Legend has it that another Roosevelt made the decision to atomic bomb Hiroshima on the yacht. Kennedy held strategy sessions on her during the Cuban Missile Crisis. Nixon negotiated the SALT 1 arms treaty on her and made the decision to resign on her.

I left with no buttons. Reeder left without the whiskey glass and has been kicking himself ever since.

However, if you are an Elk and you are in the area, you should stop by for the fish chowder. It was excellent.

Ride report:

Date Miles Total Remaining Percent
March 1 12.83 476.76 2523.24 15.89
March 2 12.76 489.52 2510.48 16.31

Tom Peeling in action at the button show.

Tom Peeling in action at the button show.


The stamp cover Jim Reeder purchased - a bit too late to do us any good.

The stamp cover Jim Reeder purchased - a bit too late to do us any good.

Jim Reeder finding his stamp cover.

Jim Reeder finding his stamp cover.

Written by Charles Keefer

March 2, 2009 at 9:07 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chuck: Glad you enjoyed the show. Nice photos too! See you at next year’s show — Feb. 27, 2010!

    Tom Peeling

    March 2, 2009 at 10:52 pm

  2. Thanks for the recap of the button show. It’s a good souvenir of the day. JIM

    Jim Reeder

    March 3, 2009 at 12:34 am

  3. My brother gave me one of those Cyclists for Obama buttons. I’ll have to check my sock drawer to see if Reeder or Peeling snagged it while I was sleeping.

    ksteinhoff

    March 3, 2009 at 10:08 am


Leave a Reply

